The village of Larrazet
- Lat : 43.931293
- Long : 1.081219
Larrazet is a "bastide" founded between 1253 and 1265. Don't miss visiting the church of Sainte Marie Madeleine (XVIth century) and its unique Baroque altarpiece. The Renaissance castle of Johan de Cardailhac, the Belleperche abbot, was built in 1500.
This village is located at the North-East of the Beaumont de Lomagne canton. The Gimone River makes a large turn near a picturesque road.
The village was built between 1253 and 1265 with a regular plan. Before 1268 the centre was closed by a wall surrounded by a deep ditch. The centre of the village still conserves some traces of the walls. There are some covered passages along the streets, with some ancient half-timbered houses (16th to 19th century).
The church of Ste Marie Madeleine (16th) has been built in limestone and displays a unique baroque altarpiece made of massive oak wood with a surface of 60m². This altarpiece was made in 1687 and it displays some remarkable statues and decorations.
Johan de Cardailhac, ordered in 1500 the construction of a castle in the place of the ancient defence tower. Nowadays this castle is a private residence and it’s being restored under the guidance of “Monuments Historiques”.
A very successful flower festival takes place in Larrazet every year, on the 2nd Sunday of May.